08-14-2023, 05:07 AM
(08-14-2023, 04:48 AM)RiverRat link Wrote:I would be interested to know if the goal umpire believed it had been touched and just wanted confirmation that it hadn't cleared the goal line before being touched. If so, there is no controversy because any touching, with whatever part of the body, occurred before the ball crossed the line.
What the goal umpire says to the field umpire initially is a bit hard to hear.
But the field umpires direction to the ARC is this....
"Score review...Umpire's call is touched one behind. Please make sure it was touched inside the field."
So from that we can make the assumption that it wasn't whether the ball was touched or not that was being questioned, but whether it was touched in the field of play.
EOS

