06-29-2022, 10:17 AM
(06-29-2022, 10:04 AM)Lods link Wrote:As far as I can see it is not a rule.I think i've heard this discussed by an umpire.
I'll stand corrected if you can find it.
Often the intent of the spoiling player is obviously to force the ball out of play.
Rule 18.10.2 (b) Kicks, Handballs or 'forces' the football over the Boundary Line...
is a rule and seems quite clear.
It should be a free kick if the intention of the player (in the opinion of the umpire) is to put the ball over the boundary line.
It happens every week.
As mentioned, you intention is to spoil. It cannot be deliberate if its a spoil.
If you start paying that then you get players holding back on their spoils so they don't get pinged for deliberate, which means the ball is more likely to be marked.
